SOHP Leadership January 2016-December 2017

Executive Committee

  • President

    Lisa Kath, San Diego State University

  • President-Elect

    Tammy Allen, University of South Florida

  • Past President

    Mo Wang, University of Florida

  • Secretary-Treasurer

    Joseph Mazzola, Roosevelt University

  • Members at Large

  • Carrie Bulger, Quinnipiac University
    Gwen Fisher, Colorado State University
    Michael Ford, University at Albany, SUNY

Standing & Ad hoc Committees

SOHP depends on the volunteer efforts of our members to make things happen. Members who are interested in helping out with one of these committees, please contact SOHP President Lisa Kath ( with your name, contact information, and information about preferences, special interests, or special areas of expertise.

Standing Committees

  • Communications Committee

    Chair: Tanya Sidawi-Ostojic
    The functions of the communications committee are to (a) manage and promote the exchange of ideas among SOHP members and (b) promote the activities and mission of SOHP to individuals and groups outside of the Society.  Responsibilities that fall within the purview of this committee include the SOHP newsletter, the SOHP website, social media outlets, and additional outreach efforts.  

  • Education and Training Committee

    Co-chairs: Larissa Barber, Northern Illinois University & Liu-Qin Yang, Portland State University
    Members of the Education & Training Committee monitor the state of graduate education in occupational health psychology (OHP), encourage and promote the development of scientific and practitioner skills of the Society's prospective members, and identify/develop resources for the OHP educators (e.g., sample syllabi, sample curricula, etc.).

  • Graduate Student Issues Committee

    Chair: Kyle Page, Roosevelt University
    The charge of the Graduate Student Issues Committee is to facilitate networking, sharing of ideas, and development of collaborative relationships among graduate students in the field of OHP, and to identify issues of particular concern to graduate affiliates of the Society plus a designated liaison between the Executive Council and the committee.

  • Membership Committee

    Chair: Yujie (Jessie) Zhan, Wilfrid Laurier University
    The main functions of the Membership Committee are to promote membership in SOHP, to evaluate applicants for membership, to maintain information about the membership, and to encourage member involvement in the functioning of the Society. In addition, the committee provides a regular accounting of membership numbers and may initiate special projects to learn about member needs and to increase membership.

Ad hoc committees and other appointed positions

  • Awards Committee

    Co-chairs: Vicki Magley, University of Connecticut & Naomi Swanson, NIOSH
    The Awards Committee solicits nominations and coordinates the evaluation and recommendations for recipients of student, research and professional OHP awards in conjunction with the biannual Work Stress & Health Conference.

  • Elections Committee

    Chair: Past President
    The Elections Committee solicits nominations for elected offices and managers the election process. It is chaired by the Past President, with additional members appointed by the President, as needed.

  • SOHP Newsletter

    Co-Editors: Gary Giumetti, Quinnipiac University & Tanya Sidawi-Ostajic, The City College, City University of New York
    Responsible for soliciting and editing articles for an electronic Society newsletter; works with the SOHP Webmaster to produce and distribute the newsletter.


    Webmaster: Janet Barnes-Farrell, University of Connecticut
    Responsible for maintaining and updating the SOHP website. Coordinates with the SOHP Newsletter Editor to produce the newsletter. Coordinates with standing committees to provide current content for the website. Contributes ideas on how to maximize the effective use of current technology resources.

  • Work Stress and Health Conference Workshop Committee

    Chair: Gwenith Fisher, Colorado State University
    Responsible for developing and coordinating pre-conference workshops for the Work Stress and Health biannual conference.